Dear Preston…

Prince of our Living King, always keep these words close to your heart…for in the words of our Savior, is His unwavering presence.

“The Lord will fight for you, you need only BE STILL.”

-Exodus 14:14

Jesus will take care of you in every situation you will encounter in life. Simply BE STILL, open your life to Him, & trust that He will take care of everything…because He will.

“For we are God’s workmanship; created in Christ Jesus, to do good works which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

-Ephesians 2:10

Always remember that it is only in Christ that we discover what we are meant to do. He put us here on earth for a reason, to achieve the things He set out for us. So look within your heart to find that purpose, for God placed it there before you were born.

“But God demonstrates His love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

-Romans 5:8

NEVER forget this. Never forget that you are so important, that Jesus willingly died for you.

“Your beauty should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle & quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

-1 Peter 3:4

Don’t let the circumstances of this world harden the heart Christ put within you. Don’t be influenced by the sinfulness of some of those on this earth, but stand firm on the Word of God & its teachings. Be beautiful/handsome in a world of ugliness.

“If then you have been raised in Christ, seek the things that are above where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your mind on the things above, not the things that are on earth.”

-Colossians 3:1-2

Don’t pursue the things of this world, but instead seek the things the Lord has prepared for you in Heaven. Nothing of this world will ever satisfy.

“Create in me a clean heart, o God, & renew a right spirit within me.”
-Psalm 51:10

And when you do stumble, because you will…..A LOT because this world will be trying to trip you left & right…..recognize your wrong doings, own up to & take responsibility for them, & then take them to God. Ask Him to remove the soil of sinfulness from your heart & to strengthen you.

“But the Lord stood with me & strengthened me.”

-2 Timothy 4:17

Because He’s always by your side, reinforcing you with strength.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear & timidity, but of power, love, & self-discipline.”

-2 Timothy 1:7

And with that strength comes power, love, & self-control. So know that you are equipped with everything you need to live for & make a impact for Christ in this world. Never doubt your ability to make a difference in the lives of those around you & never be afraid to take a stand for Christ.

“Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”
-Romans 12:12

When things in life aren’t going exactly the way you would like, remember this, God will never put anything in front of you that He hasn’t equipped you to handle. So in those times, remember to rejoice in hope for what is & what’s to come, be patient throughout it all, & never cease praying. Everything will work out according to Gods plan. For He also said,

“Don’t worry because I am with you, don’t be afraid because I am your God. I will make you strong & will help you.” -Isaiah 41:10

And there you go.

“He will cover you with His feathers & under His wings, you will find refuge.”

-Psalm 91:4

Know that no matter where are you in life, that you are never out of the care of our Lord. He will always be there, sheltering you from the coldness that can blow through this world. Now this doesn’t mean you will be exempt from the trials of this earth, but that you will never be out from under His protection.

“God is able to do far more than we could ever dare ask, or even dream of, indefinitely beyond our prayers, desires, thoughts, or hopes.”

-Ephesians 3:20

Again, NEVER forget this. No matter what. In the everyday & in the hard times. Our minds can’t BEGIN to comprehend all that God is capable of. Even in our biggest, brightest dreams for ourselves & our lives dim in comparison to His plans for us. Even in our strongest storms, they are the lightest of rain in His hands. HE is so much bigger than anything we ever encounter, good & bad.

So, little brother, I’ve shared with you some of my favorite scripture, hoping that you will look at them often & know how much you are loved & how well you are equipped to live a life for Christ…no matter the circumstances.

I love you.

Side note: I was inspired to write this post by a friend who is making a “Scripture Journal” for her daughter, which is brilliant! So, in a form of sharing my favorite scriptures with her, I decided that I would write this post to my little bro…hoping that he will look at these words & feel the love & presence of our Savior. But what I didn’t realize at the time was that God sent this task to me exactly when I needed it. My family & I are currently walking through one of life’s storms, & God knew I needed to be reminded of His promises to us. He knew these verses are my favorites & He knew, I needed to dwell on them, not the size, strength, or outcome of this storm. And I could not be more grateful to Him. While my heart is still broken, my mind still worried, & my world still spinning……I am human after all……I now feel a renewed peace. Because even though I know, with every fiber of my being, that everything will ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS  work out according to His plan, I still need a reminder every now & then. And the fact that my God would send a personal reminder to me in such a simple, yet POWERFUL way, is just…..wow.

Thank you Father for your infinite wisdom, grace, comfort, & love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Ministry

Leave a Reply

